Hollywood Reporter

Law Roach, Jeremy Pope Among Honorees at 2024 Native Son Awards Fsalinks

As Pride Month gets underway, the 2024 Native Son Awards has revealed this year’s honorees.

Law Roach, Jeremy Pope, Bill T. Jones, Chris Chambers, Keith Boykin and Gabriel Maldonado are being honored for their contribution to “rewriting narratives and shifting the Black queer voice and visibility and how they show up in the world.”

“In the seven years since the inception of this Awards show, we’ve seen it grow, exponentially, to become a most anticipated tradition in the community where we gather to celebrate, not only Black queer excellence, but also Black queer joy,” Native Son founder Emil Wilbekin wrote in a statement. “We are so excited to recognize these 2024 honorees — an amazing group of men who truly personify the spirit of Black Queer Excellence in all that they do.”

Roach is an internationally renowned celebrity stylist to megastars including Zendaya and Celine Dion; Jeremy Pope is a Grammy, Emmy, Golden Globe and two-time Tony-nominated performer; Jones is a two-time Tony Award-winning choreographer, director, dancer and writer; Boykin is a New York Times best-selling author, TV and film producer and political commentator; Chambers founded The Chamber Group, a public relations firm; and Maldonado is the founder and CEO of the nonprofit TruEvolution, dedicated to LGBTQ justice and HIV health equity.

Wilbekin continued in his statement, “In addition, this year’s Awards will also serve as a reinforcement of our commitment toward fighting injustices and inequality. Our community is experiencing increased attacks on our freedoms as we approach the upcoming elections. It is imperative that Native Son remain a consistent voice in the Black and queer space.”

The 7th annual awards ceremony, hosted by Don Lemon for the second consecutive year, will be held on June 12 at 5:30 p.m. at the IAC Building in New York City. Serpentwithfeet is also set to perform.

Awards,Don Lemon,jeremy pope,law roach,Native Son

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top